Select your background

Freqently Asked Questions


1. What is the point/advantage of having yoga qualifications on the national framework?

The BWYQ qualifications have been aligned to the Ofqual Regulated Qualification Framework (RQF) and assigned level 4 attainment as detailed below.   Levels of attainment are nationally recognised standards for the achievement of knowledge and skills that a student is required to achieve in order to complete a regulated qualification. The BWYQ qualifications are also assigned a credit value which may be transferable to other educational institutions towards the achievement of other qualifications on the RQF. Students may therefore be able to transfer their achievements between providers. Maintaining these standards through Ofqual recognition allows BWYQ to sustain and ensure high quality learning opportunities and qualifications; supporting the role of  the BWY as the Governing body of yoga in England.

2. What is an awarding organisation?

Awarding Organisations are recognised by regulatory bodies (such as Ofqual) and develop qualifications according to government, industry or individual need. This section describes the role of Awarding Organisations and their regulatory requirements when developing qualifications. 

The BWYQ are accountable to Ofqual for the quality and rigour of their qualification design, delivery and assessment arrangements and are required to operate certain quality assurance systems in order to comply with the regulator’s requirements and conditions of recognition.

What are the key functions of a recognised awarding organisation? 

Recognised awarding organisations will:

  • develop and quality assure qualifications; 
  • develop and maintain assessment arrangements and methods that are fit for purpose; 
  • manage and quality assure the assessment process for each of their qualifications; 
  • provide customer services to candidates and centres; 
  • award qualifications; 
  • provide certificates.

In addition to the above, it is an Awarding Organisation’s responsibility is to quality assure all of these arrangements to guarantee continued compliance with regulatory criteria. Further guidance is given in the Ofqual General Conditions of Recognition. Contact BWYQ for further information.

3. What is a Level 4 qualification?  

There are 4 main frameworks that group all qualifications into the same levels. The frameworks in England are:

  • National Qualifications Framework (NQF)
  • Framework for Higher Education Qualifications (FHEQ)
  • Regulated Qualification Framework (RQF) in England and Northern Ireland

Courses in these frameworks range from entry level up to level 8.  They use a credit system so that individual learners can study units at their own pace and build these up into qualifications over time. Credits can be transferable between different educational providers.



QCF – credit system

Award 1 - 12 credits

Certificate – 13 – 36 credits

Diploma 37+ credits**

Level 8


Level 7

Masters Degree

Level 6


University degree BA -Bsc

Level 5

Level 4

Level 3

A level – AS + A2

Level 2

GCSE Grades c-a

Level 1

GCSE Grades d-e

Entry Level 1 - 3

Key stage 3


School/ 6th Form 

Further Education é


BWYQ Certificates and Diplomas are regarded as being Level 4 qualifications. Level 4 is often considered to be akin to a foundation degree or HNC/D.

New Level Descriptor for Level 4 Qualifications as per Ofqual New Regulatory Qualifications Framework (RQF) publications September 2015.

Knowledge descriptor (the holder…)

Skills descriptor (the holder can…)

Has practical, theoretical or technical knowledge and understanding of a subject or field of work to address problems that are well defined but complex and non-routine. Can analyse, interpret and evaluate relevant information and ideas. Is aware of the nature of approximate scope of the area of study or work. Has an informed awareness of different perspectives or approaches within the area of study or work.

Identify, adapt and use appropriate cognitive and practical skills to inform actions and address problems that are complex and non-routine while normally fairly well-defined. Review the effectiveness and appropriateness of methods, actions and results.

4. What is the British Wheel of Yoga Qualifications (BWYQ)?

The BWYQ is an awarding organisation. It was incorporated as a private company limited by guarantee in September 2010 and has gained charitable status. We are an independent subsidiary of our parent company, The British Wheel of Yoga (BWY) and we have a separate board to the BWY National Executive Committee (NEC).

5. What is the relationship between British Wheel of Yoga Training (BWYT) and BWYQ?

BWYT is the training arm of the BWY and has been approved as a Centre by the BWYQ. BWYT is therefore recognised by the BWYQ as being a centre fit to deliver BWYQ Ofqual regulated qualifications. The relationship between BWYT and the BWYQ is a professional training arrangement as stipulated in the BWYQ Centre Handbook and Agreement.  The BWYQ is the regulated and recognised Awarding Organisation that oversees the quality of the qualifications that the BWYT delivers.